Screenwriters Association announces SWA Awards 2021
Screenwriters Association announces SWA Awards 2021

Screenwriters Association announces SWA Awards 2021

2 min

16 shares, 77 points

Submissions now open for SWA Awards 2021 for screenwriters and lyricists in 15 categories

January 8, 2021

Celebrating the power of excellence once again, Screenwriters Association of India (SWA) announced the second edition of SWA Awards, the only awards in India dedicated entirely to screenwriters and lyricists of Hindi Feature Films, Television Shows and Web Series. Judged by a jury of eminent screenwriters, these awards will continue to be the most coveted and prestigious awards for writers in India.

The Screenwriters Association organized the first ever awards for excellence in writing last year with the inception of SWA Awards 2020 that was held on September 27th and gave out awards in 16 categories in Feature Films (Article 15, Gully Boy, Soni), Television Shows (Bhakarwadi, Mere Dad Di Dulhan, Tarak Mehta Ka Ulta Chashma, Baavle Utavale), Web Series (Delhi Crime, Four More Shots Please, Sacred Games 2) and Lyrics (Kesari, Ishaaron Ishaaron Mein). These winners were selected by jury panels of eminent writers and lyricists from almost 90 nominees shortlisted from a huge pool of applications. In all the selection committee considered 223 feature films, 146 TV Shows, 43 Web Series, 146 Lyrics submissions.

The SWA Awards 2020 was applauded by one and all for being highly professional and transparent about its submissions, selection and nomination processes.

The Screenwriters Association has now announced a call for submissions for SWA Awards 2021 from writers of TV shows and Web Series as well as Lyricists of TV Shows released/telecast/streamed in 2020. More information about submission procedure can be found at

Current SWA President Robin Bhatt said, ‘Last year’s SWA Awards 2020 was appreciated widely and now we have started preparations for SWA Awards 2021 to recognize the best in writing in 2020. While we understand that there were many challenges during 2020 because of the pandemic, excellence through writing in the works that were released did shine through. I request fellow writers to participate whole heartedly. We need full support and encouragement from all members to make our own award function a big event. Only good work will get the winner’s trophy, only excellence will be honoured… only the best will win.”

SWA General Secretary Vinod Ranganath said, “To get an award for the best written work of the year is a joy any writer would want. Days, weeks and hours of toil, filling empty pages with words is back breaking and even frustrating. But when it all comes together to create magic on screen and when that magic gets appreciated it’s a gratifying feeling for a writer. It becomes all the more memorable and momentous when you get appreciated by your own community, peers and colleagues. The SWA Awards which commenced last year in the Diamond Jubilee year of the SWA, has become that coveted award for every writer in the industry. I urge all writers of the industry to participate in it, as there is nothing greater than being rewarded by your own fraternity.”

Sridhar Rangayan, Chairperson of the Awards Committee said, “Last year’s SWA Awards elicited a tremendous response. The writing fraternity were really enthused that finally there was an award in India for best writing. In fact shows like Delhi Crime and Four More Shots Please which won awards at SWA Awards 2020 went on to be nominated for Emmy Awards and Delhi Crime won an Emmy too, thereby reaffirming the validity and excellence of SWA Awards in felicitating the best writing talents. Now we are really excited to call for submissions for SWA Awards 2021, for works released in 2020.”

SWA Award 2021 is tentatively scheduled to be held online on June 27th 2021.

Like it? Share with your friends!

16 shares, 77 points

What's Your Reaction?

hate hate
confused confused
fail fail
fun fun
geeky geeky
love love
lol lol
omg omg
win win


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *