Tomorrow’s 75th Independence Day! A day for proudly hosting our national flag! But Do you know about the times of modification of the Indian National Flag? Have a look!

1 point

India is in full swing for the celebrations of its 75nd Independence Day. Every corner of the nation is painted with tricolour.

When August nears, we all remember the sacrifices of our freedom fighters who gave up their lives for their country and their contribution towards building an independent nation.

Most of us only know the flag of India as the triangle which has orange, white and green colours in it — each of them signifying different meanings.

However, this flag, which represents India all over the world has changed its face a few times to stop at how we see it today.

As you nationalist beings brace yourselves for some traditional kite-flying and dressing-up this national holiday, here are some things you must know about the journey of our tricolour:

Timeline of the Indian National Flag: Then v/s now:

1. Indian National Flag (1906):

 The first National Flag of India was hoisted on August 7, 1906, in the Parsee Bagan Square (Green Park) in Calcutta (now Kolkata).

2:Indian National Flag (1907):

 The second flag was hoisted by Bhikaji Cama in Paris and was later exhibited in Berlin at a socialist conference.

This was very similar to the first flag, except that the top strip had only one lotus and seven stars denoting the Saptarishi.

3: Indian National Flag (1917):

 This flag was hoisted by Dr Annie Besant and Lokmanya Tilak during the Home Rule movement and was the third flag modified in a row.

This flag had five red and four green horizontal strips arranged alternately, with seven stars in the saptarishi super-imposed on them.

4:Indian National Flag (1921): 

During the session of the All India Congress Committee which met at Bezwada in 1921, a young man from Andhra presented this flag to Gandhiji.

It was only after his suggestion that the white strip and Charkha was added.

It was made up of two colours — red and green — representing the two major communities i.e., Hindus and Muslims.

5. Indian National Flag (1931): 

A resolution was passed in 1931 to adopt a tricolour flag as our national flag which became the landmark in Indian History.

The Indian National Congress (INC) formally adopted this flag, which was first hoisted on August 31.

6:Indian National Flag (1947 to now): This flagwhich was born on July 22, 1947 was first hoisted at the Council House on August 15, 1947.

Since then, we have this tricolour as the representation of India all over the world.

The national flag of India is a horizontal tricolour of deep saffron (kesari) colour at the top, white in the middle and dark green at the bottom in equal proportions. We all know what these three colours signify!

What our Indian National Flag has looked like ever since independence.Though the Indian National Flag had gone through a lot of changes in the past, the aforementioned six changes were the major landmarks in its history.

Now feel prouder and sing ‘Vijayi Vishwa Tirangaa Pyaara! Jhanda Ooncha Rahe Hamara’ this Independence Day!


Like it? Share with your friends!

1 point

What's Your Reaction?

hate hate
confused confused
fail fail
fun fun
geeky geeky
love love
lol lol
omg omg
win win


Your email address will not be published.